The State Chapter of the National Career Development Association

GCDA's Mission Statement
To empower career development professionals in the state of Georgia by providing them with resources and opportunities for professional development, networking, and advocacy.

Our Goals

To increase public awareness of the importance of career development.

To promote professionalism in the field of career development.

To increase awareness of the importance of counseling in HR fields.

To provide networking opportunities.

To exchange information, best practices, and trends in the industry.

To maintain quality in our knowledge and skills as changes occur in the workforce.

To assist with credentialing.

To have fun!


GCDA began in January 1998 when seven individuals met with Jennifer Kahnweiler, the NCDA Southern Regional Trustee and Jane Goodman, a Past President of NCDA, with the goal of forming a state division devoted to promoting career development in Georgia.

On that day, officers were elected and objectives were developed for the Georgia Career Development Association. Planning began for a Professional Development Institute to be held at Motorola Corporation, speakers were obtained, and registration material sent to members of NCDA residing in Georgia. The response exceeded expectations, and GCDA became a reality.

Jewell Craig Meringer was elected President. Other officers included: Janis Ashkin, Mary Lee Tripoli, Jackie Twiggs, and Lanie Damon.

As a result of the energy, enthusiasm and commitment of the first members, GCDA won NCDA's Outstanding State Division Award that first year and again in 2017.

GCDA has continued as a dynamic organization. Listed below are the Professional Development programs and other accomplishments of the organization to date.

Click here to view the GCDA past events list.

Past Presidents

Jewell Craig Meringer
Mary Lee Tripoli
Janis Ashkin
Jacqueline Twiggs
Betsy Johnson
Frankie Placide
Phil Rockwell
Paul Bredderman
Paul Bredderman
Lisa Littlefield
Lisa Littlefield
David Harris
Charlotte Hayes
Betsy Johnson
Robbie Brawner Ouzts 2012-2013

Andrea Holyfield  2013-2014

Andrea Holyfield 2014-2015
Ashley Edgar 2015-2016
Debra Ruddell 2016-2017

Bethany Mills 2017-2018
Kali DeWald 2018-2019

Danielle Rubenstein 2019-2020

Margaret (Maggie) Casey O'Brien 2020-2021

David Harris 2021-2022

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software